Law School Announces 2022 Public Service Summer Fellows

Photos submitted

Top, left to right: Addison Tucker, Grace Faulkenberry, Gunnar Bartlett, MiKayla Gyroe and Lexi Robertson. Bottom: Maria Cueva, Marcus Montgomery, Kristina Ranney, Joshua Clem and Savannah Luna.

The U of A School of Law’s Summer Public Service Scholarship Program offers paid public service scholarships to promising law students interested in careers in public service. This is part of the law school’s larger effort to fulfill the university’s mission as a land-grant institution.

The program, now in its fourth year, was created by former law school dean Margaret Sova McCabe to encourage first- and second-year law students who are interested in public service and demonstrated their commitment to it. To date, 38 students have received scholarships.

The 2022 Public Service Summer Fellows will lend their expertise to government, non-government, and non-profit organizations in Arkansas, Kansas, Tennessee, Arizona, Texas, California, and Washington , DC. Among other things, fellows will engage in advocacy for veterans’ rights. , racial justice, domestic violence, housing, immigrant youth and victims of crime.

“I continue to be incredibly proud of the support the Law School provides to our inspiring, public service-minded students through this scholarship program,” said Annie Smith, Associate Professor of Law and Faculty Director of the public service and volunteering at law school. “Scholars’ work this summer will most likely impact the entire trajectory of their legal careers and hopefully will also have long-term positive impacts in Arkansas and beyond.”


addison tuckerresponsible for public interest and rural community sustainability, will work in the Cherokee County Attorney’s Office in Kansas.

Grace Faulkenberry200th Anniversary Civil Service member of the Rose Law Firm, will work for the Legal Aid of Arkansas–Housing Group.

Gunnar BartlettPublic Interest Litigation Fellow, will work for Razorback Athletics.

Savanna Luna200th Anniversary Public Service Member of the Rose Law Firm, will work for the Shelby County Public Defenders.

Kristina RanneyPublic Interest Litigation Fellow, will work in the Maricopa County District Attorney’s Office.

Maria CuevaGearhart Family Endowed Diversity Fellow, will work for Arkansas Immigrant Defense.

MiKayla JayroeRafaelli-Lineberger Public Service Fellow, will work for the office of Senator Tom Cotton.

Lexi RobertsonSquire Patton Boggs Foundation Public Policy Fellow, will work for Legal Aid of Arkansas–Domestic Justice Group.

Joshua ClemSquire Patton Boggs Foundation Sustained Impact Veterans’ Justice Fellow, will work for Swords to Plowshares.

Marcus MontgomerySquire Patton Boggs Foundation Sustained Impact Racial Justice Fellow, will work for Lone Star Justice Alliance.

About the School of Law: The law school offers a competitive JD as well as an advanced LL.M. curriculum, which are taught by nationally recognized faculty. The school offers unique opportunities for students to participate in pro bono work, internships, live client clinics, competitions, and food and agriculture initiatives. The school strives to identify, discuss and challenge issues of race, color, ethnicity and the impacts they have on students, faculty and staff members with the aim of create a diverse, inclusive and equitable community. From admitting the six pioneers who were the first African-American students to attend law school in the South without a court order to graduating governors, judges, prosecutors and professors who became President of the United States and Secretary of State, Law The school has a rich history and culture. Follow us on @uarklaw.